McGraw Hill Award

Annual McGraw Hill Distinguished Scholar Award

This year presents the fourth annual distinguished scholar award for the Conference on Academic Research in Education and we are grateful to the McGraw Hill textbook publisher for lending their corporate name to the awards. The awards are intended to (a) recognize quality scholarship among CARE participants and (b) encourage able scholars to continue participating in the conference. CARE will bestow 3-4 awards on an annual basis and they will be recognized in the conference program. We assembled an ad hoc committee of able scholars who have supported the creation of CARE and the committee reviewed CVs of individuals who evidenced able scholarship in research conference presentations, journal publications, and other scholarly contributions to their respective fields.

The recipients of this year’s MH awards will be eligible to serve on the selection committee for future MH awards. We will again form an ad hoc committee for the 2021 conference and the CARE conference Director will appoint a new selection committee annually. MH award candidates may be self-nominated by sending an e-mail message to the conference Director with an accompanying CV. For selection, the individual must attend the conference in the year in which an award is bestowed and particular consideration is given to evident scholarship (holistically considered). Recipients may be selected from later career scholars with established records of publications as well as early/mid-career faculty who provide evidence of particularly promising scholarly careers.

Please extend a hearty congratulations to the following 2020 recipients:

Tiberio Garza, Ph.D

University of Nevada, Las Vegas

Suzanne H. Jones, Ph.D.

Utah State University

Jamie N. Sanchez, Ph.D.

Biola University